August 1, 2011

  • August 1st.................a day to relax.....


     

    I have always felt that you should celebrate the first day of summer by doing as little as possible.  August, sweet hot and lazy August.  This is the time when most summer vacations are over, the company has gone home and the next holiday is associated with the start of a fresh new school year.  I use to love the commercial that showed the parent skipping down the store aisles, collecting back-to-school supplies and singing the famous Christmas song…”It’s the most wonderful time of the year…”


    So today when my niece asked me to watch my three year old great-niece I could not turn her down.  We splashed in the pool, laughing up the sunshine, played with my dog, ate watermelon, and then watched Thomas the Train. 


    She reminded me that childhood is so magickal.  Bill Vaughn once stated, “A three-year-old child is a being who gets almost as much fun out of a fifty-six dollar set of swings as it does out of finding a small green worm.”  This is so very true, a three-year-old, and other aged children can find the magick and beauty in almost anything.


    So for  magick and imagination I dedicate this poem to my 3 year old niece…thank you for helping me find magick in my life today…thank you for being my muse today and thank you for helping me enjoy the first day of August.

     


    Do you remember those summer days
    When life was about the games we played
    When cardboard boxes made castles strong
    And we'd fight battles the whole day long

    Our swords were fashioned from sticks with care
    For slaying the dragons in their lairs
    And bicycles were our valiant steeds
    Imagination filled all our needs

    Those were the days when our cares were few
    And we bragged of the dragons that we slew
    A band of knights wearing tennis shoes
    Who always had bubble gum to chew

    Sometimes I long for those simple days
    And the innocence with which we played
    And battles we fought with no blood spilt
    In the Camelot that childhood built


     



Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment